It’s Khaled season!
Arguably the king of the modern day hip hop anthem Dj Khaled had returned with a new single for his next album. 

Top Off Featuring Future,Jay Z & Beyonce. It’s another turn up song that’ll you’ll be hearing on the radio for a while. 

After listening to it for a while I’ve come to the conclusion that

It’s not bad

It’s not good

But just inspired. 

From the production to the subject matter it feels like a old car with a different paint job. Recycled filler. 

From the Future hook it sounds like a draft of “I Got The Keys”

“I took the top off the Maybach

I took the top off the Maybach

I took the top off the Maybach

I took the top off the Maybach

I took the top off the Maybach, oh

I took the top off the Maybach, ah

I took the top off the Maybach, yeah

I took the top off the Maybach, yeah”

“I got them keys, keys, keys

I got them keys, keys, keys

I got them keys, keys, keys

I got them keys, keys, keys

We go to court, we gon’ plead the fifth

I know the judge, I’mma shoot him some chips

I got them keys, keys, keys

I got them keys, keys, keys”

Even music’s #1 power couple sound unmotivated. Jay Z just came off his most creative and highly acclaimed album to date with 4:44 but his verse sounds like a left over.

Beyonce who’s at her artistic peak steals the show with her rap verse but even then it’s more impressive cause it’s her rapper not actually what she’s saying.

Janelle monáe Django Jane is more impressive overall for comparison. 

It’s again rich people stunting but not making it sound enjoyable but boring.

When so many big names are attached to a lead single I expected something more honestly. 

It is a top 40 hit in the US but it won’t be remembered until the video comes out.

Still Khaled is a man of many tricks, I’m sure he’ll bounce back in my eyes.

Liu Scott

#daRENAGADES 

#crudBUTprofessional

#djkhaled

#topoff

@lrsbless